Blog: REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 A.M. GMT/2 P.M. SGT – Successful Farming

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters
text service as of 6 A.M. GMT/2 P.M. SGT. For a full schedule of
news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect
https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/AUSTRALIA

Australia’s Victoria state calls for patience on end of
COVID-19 lockdown

Australia’s Victoria state authorities said on Tuesday that
it was still unclear whether a snap one-week lockdown to contain
a fresh COVID-19 outbreak would end as planned on Thursday
night, as the state grapples with a growing virus outbreak.

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/VIETNAM

Vietnam says seeking to produce COVID-19 vaccines to supply
COVAX

HANOI, (Reuters) – Vietnam is seeking to buy COVID-19
vaccine production technology and wants to build a plant to
supply the COVAX programme, its health ministry said on Tuesday,
as the country tries to step up vaccinations to stem a new
outbreak of infections

U.S.

USA-HOLIDAY/MEMORIALDAY

Americans hit the road on Memorial Day holiday, a year after
pandemic slammed travel

NEW YORK, (Reuters) – With half the country at least
partially protected against the coronavirus, Americans escaped
their pandemic doldrums over the three-day holiday weekend that
traditionally unleashes the country’s pent-up wanderlust at the
doorstep of summer.

USA-RACE/TULSA MASSACRE-SURVIVORS

Survivors remember Tulsa race massacre 100 years later as
Biden marks anniversary

TULSA, Okla., May 31 (Reuters) – Lessie Benningfield Randle,
106, can still remember a house engulfed in flames and bodies
stacked in truckbeds – horrors that 100 years later led to a
pledge by President Joe Biden to work for racial justice.

BUSINESS

GLOBAL-ECONOMY/

GLOBAL ECONOMY Asia’s factories sustain expansion but supply
squeeze dims outlook

Asia’s factory activity continued to expand in May thanks to
an ongoing recovery in global demand, surveys showed on Tuesday,
though rising raw material costs and supply chain constraints
clouded the outlook.

AUSTRALIA-ECONOMY/RATES

Australia’s c.bank holds rate at near zero as economy bolts
ahead

SYDNEY, (Reuters) – Australia’s central bank left its cash
rate at record lows for its sixth straight meeting on Tuesday
even as data showed the country’s economic output was likely
back to its pre-pandemic level while house prices were shooting
through the roof.

ENTERTAINMENT

ODDLY-ENOUGH/

French restaurant serves up food of the future: insects

Laurent Veyet’s tasting menu is not for the faint-hearted,
but may point to the future of feeding a booming world
population – there is a prawn salad with yellow mealworm,
crunchy insects on a bed of vegetables and chocolate-coated
grasshoppers.

SPORTS

TENNIS-FRENCHOPEN/

Fellow athletes rally around Osaka after French Open
withdrawal

PARIS, (Reuters) – Japan’s Naomi Osaka stunned the tennis
world on Monday by withdrawing from the French Open after
deciding to boycott post-match media duties, explaining she had
been suffering from depression for almost three years.

OLYMPICS-2020/

Australia’s softball squad arrives in Japan as Japan widens
vaccine rollout

Australia’s softball squad arrived in Tokyo for a
pre-Olympic camp on Tuesday, the first national team to come to
Japan for training since the Games were postponed, even as a
majority of Japanese oppose staging the Games due to COVID-19

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

NORWAY-ATTACKS/ (PIX) (TV)

Ten years after Breivik attacks, survivors want to confront
far-right extremism

Nearly ten years after Anders Behring Breivik tried to kill
her on Utoeya, Astrid Hoem is back on the island to explain to a
group of teenagers how she ran for her life and tried to hide in
a small beach cove while Breivik murdered others around her.

1 Jun 02:00 ET / 06:00 GMT

USA-RACE/TULSAMASSACRE-WHITE HOUSE

White House announces measures on race

1 Jun 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

USA-CLIMATE/CITIES

U.S. cities hire specialists to counter climate change as
impacts worsen

Tucson hired a forester. Miami named a heat officer. And Los
Angeles appointed a climate emergency mobilization director.

1 Jun 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

USA-SCHOOLS/CLASS OF 2021 (PIX) (TV)

WIDER IMAGE-Meet the U.S. students confronting racism,
injustice and a pandemic

This year’s high school graduates have been buffeted by
social and political change, from Donald Trump’s election when
they were freshman to senior years under the pandemic’s shadow.
Young people from Maine to California reflect on the past four
years as graduation season begins.

1 Jun 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

TURKEY-GEORGIA/ (PIX)

Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan hosts Georgia’s PM Irakli
Garibashvili

Turkish.President Tayyip Erdogan hosts the Georgian Prime
Minister Irakli Garibashvili for talks and a joint news
conference.

1 Jun 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

BRAZIL-POLITICS/MILITARY

Brazil’s Bolsonaro and army command at odds over general at
rally

Appearance of an active-service general at a political rally
for far-right President Jair Bolsonaro puts relations with the
army to the test, setting a precedent of insubordination if the
officer, Brazil’s former health minister, is not punished,
former generals and scholars of military protocol say

1 Jun 13:00 ET / 17:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/GERMANY (PIX) (TV)

German health minister, RKI chief hold news conference on
COVID-19

German Health Minister Jens Spahn and Lothar Wieler,
president of the RKI institute for infectious diseases, hold a
regular news conference on the spread of COVID-19 in Germany.

1 Jun 04:30 ET / 08:30 GMT

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/WHO BRIEFING (TV)

WHO, WTO, IMF, World Bank heads to give news conference on
vaccine access

Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, director-general of the World
Health Organization (WHO), to give news conference on access to
vaccines alongside Kristalina Georgieva, Managing Director,
International Monetary Fund, David R. Malpass, President, World
Bank Group and Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Director-General, World
Trade Organization.

1 Jun 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

MUSIC-JAZZ/MONTREUX (PIX)

Montreux Jazz Festival to announce line-up for annual July
festival

The Montreux Jazz Festival announces its line-up for its
reduced annual festival from July 2-17 July after being
cancelled last year due to COVID-19.

1 Jun 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

USA-COURT/RULINGS

Supreme Court prepares for big rulings including Obamacare

The U.S. Supreme Court heads into the last month of its term
with several major cases yet to be decided, including a
Republican attempt to strike down the Obamacare health law.

1 Jun 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

CANADA-ALBERTA/BONDS

Canada’s Alberta province moves back in favor with bond
investors as commodities surge

Investors see less risk in Alberta’s bonds, brushing aside a
recent credit rating downgrade, as surging energy prices boost
the outlook for the province’s finances and oil sands operators
begin to address the sustainable investment trend.

1 Jun 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

HUNGARY-CENBANK/BONDS-TENDER

Central bank bond buying auction results

1 Jun 07:00 ET / 11:00

EU-TRADE/

EU trade chief Dombrovskis speaks on global trade in Reuters
interview

Valdis Dombrovskis, Executive Vice President of the European
Commission and trade Commissioner discusses trade relations 6
Months into 2021, a new U.S. Administration & Brexit.

1 Jun 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

USA-FED/QUARLES

Federal Reserve Vice Chair Quarles discusses economy and
financial regulation

Federal Reserve Vice Chair for Supervision Randal Quarles
participates in discussion on the economy and financial
regulation before virtual POLITICO Live event.

1 Jun 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

MEXICO-ELECTION/ECONOMY

FACTBOX-What will happen to the Mexican peso after the June
6 elections?

Mexico is preparing to go to the polls on June 6 in the
largest elections in its history with thousands of elected
offices up for grabs. Markets are paying close attention.

1 Jun 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

RUSSIA-OFZ/AUCTION

Russia’s FinMin announces OFZ bond auctions

Russia’s Finance Ministry announces OFZ bond auctions for
Wednesday

1 Jun 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

USA-FED/BRAINARD

Federal Reserve Board Governor Brainard speaks on economy
and monetary policy

Federal Reserve Board Governor Lael Brainard speaks on the
economy and monetary policy before virtual Economic Club of New
York webinar event.

1 Jun 14:00 ET / 18:00 GMT

SPORTS

OLYMPICS-2020/CYCLING-CONNOR-FIELDS (PIX) (TV)

Defending Olympic gold medal BMX rider Conner Fields gets
ready for Tokyo 2020

U.S. Olympic BMX rider and defending gold medallist Connor
Fields trains in his home town of Las Vegas as he prepares to
defend his title on the BMX track in Tokyo at the 2020 Olympics.

1 Jun 09:00 ET / 13:00 GMT

© Copyright Thomson Reuters 2021. Click For Restrictions – http://about.reuters.com/fulllegal.asp

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s